Green day tuneing half step down

nodyland

Hi all,

I'm kind of new to guitaring and am a big fan of Green Day (I havn't been to any concerts though), and have a question if anybody can answer it about tuneing down. I have bought 5 of the Green day guita tab books and noticed that some songs are in standard tune, some half step down, and some full step down. Now i've never to one of there concerts, but do they have to keep tuning up and down all the time to play there songs or do they play them some other way if you know what i mean. Please help

Many thanks

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm pretty sure that most of them are played a half-step down (though I'm sure that "Good Riddence" isn't). Since most of the songs are power chords, though, you can play them in standard tuning. Just play one fret lower everytime (which will sound exactly the same as long as the song doesn't have a low D# in it (like "Brainstew" does)).

They have different guitars that are tuned different..so if they play one song that's 1/2 step down and then play one that's in standard tuning they have to change bass and guitar..

Well the people who have Bullet In A Bible can see that when Billie plays the older stuff he uses his old guitar which is most probably tuned a half step down. It makes it easier than tuning it half way through a show, a lot of guitarists do it, hope that helped :D

tracks 1 - 10 on 39 smooth are standard tuning, 11 to 19 are 1/2 step dpwn and some a full step.

dookie and imsomniac area both half a step down, nimrod warning and american idiot are all standard tuning except whatsername which is in D.

lol

and as ppl have said, they have different guitars in different keys.